About Us » Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Hiawatha Academies Board of Directors is tasked with ensuring that the mission and values of the Hiawatha schools are met and providing guidance to ensure Hiawatha’s long-term growth and vitality. The Board of Directors works closely with the Leadership Team to chart a course for Hiawatha Academies and meets regularly throughout the year. Our Board members are drawn from the fields of business, education, healthcare, legal, and philanthropy and share a commitment to grow Hiawatha scholars into leaders.

In accordance to open meeting law (OML), which applies to public bodies including School Boards, Hiawatha Academies is required to conduct business publicly, or at an open meeting.

Contact Information
Board Members can be reached at: boardchair@hiawathaacademies.org
For media inquiries, please contact: mediarequests@hiawathaacademies.org

Upcoming Meetings
November 10th, 5 – 7 p.m.
Location: Hiawatha Collegiate High School
Call-in Number: 712-451-0666 x 447315

Chair | Gerardo Alcazar
Blackwell Burke

Treasurer | Robbie Soskin
Yum! Kitchen and Bakery

Director | Alicia Muñoz
Macalester College

Director | Chels Elsberry
Hiawatha Academies Teacher

Director | Jason Brandenborg
The Brandenborg Foundation

Director | Scott Kolman-Keen
Hiawatha Academies Teacher

Director | Jennifer Stern
Great Minnesota Schools

Director | Jon Schwartz
College Possible

Director | Jamil Salaam
Hiawatha Academies Parent

Director | Jose Gomez
Hiawatha Academies Parent

Executive Committee
Gerardo Alcazar
Jennifer Stern
Robbie Soskin
Scott Kolman-Keen
Chels Elsberry

Family and Community Engagement
Jamil Salaam
Alicia Muñoz
Jose Gomez

Gerardo Alcazar
Jennifer Stern
Jon Schwartz

Finance & Facilities
Jason Brandenborg
Robbie Soskin

Scott Kolman-Keen
Chels Elsberry

  • November 10th, 5 – 7 p.m.
  • December 8th, 5 – 7 p.m.
  • January 26th, 5 – 7 p.m.
  • February 23rd, 5 – 7 p.m.
  • April 20th, 5 – 7 p.m.
  • May 11th, 5 – 7 p.m.
  • June 8th, 5 – 7 p.m.